In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. 

A program may be granted an eight-year term, an eight-year term with conditions, or a two-year term of continuing accreditation, or a three-year term of initial accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established education standards. Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a non-accredited undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the non-accredited degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

Norwich University’s School of Architecture + Art offers the following NAAB-accredited degree program(s): 
M. Arch: B.S.A.S. 130 credits + 34 graduate credits = 164 credits

The date of Norwich University's next accreditation visit is set for 2026.

 Architecture Accreditation Documents:

  1. Conditions for Accreditation, 2020 edition
  2. Conditions for Accreditation in effect at the time of the last visit (2014)
  3. Procedures for Accreditation, 2020 edition
  4. Procedures for accreditation in effect at the time of the last visit (2015)
  5. Annual Reports submitted since the last team visit
  6. The most recent decision letter from NAAB
  7. The Architecture Program Report (APR) submitted for the most recent visit
  8. The final edition of the most recent Visiting Team Report