Engineering Professor Tara Kulkarni (left) mentoring Apprentice Grant recipient Elizabeth Ells ’18. Today, Ells is a PhD candidate at UMass Dartmouth’s School for Marine Technology & Science, and in January 2019 received the Barnstable Association for Recreational Shellfishing, Inc. (BARS) Scholarship.

Apprentice Grants are funded through the Provost Chase Scholarship Initiative Program and provide undergraduates with high-impact learning experiences while giving faculty support for specific research projects and curriculum development initiatives. The apprenticeship's goals are to increase faculty productivity and to introduce students to professional life while developing their communication, analytical, writing, and/or research skills.

Grant Recipients

Academic Year 2019-20

Tara Kulkarni, associate professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, and Camryn Anderson, a freshman engineering major, for “Green Stormwater Infrastructure: Catalysts of Urban Energy and Health Resilience.”

Simon Pearish, assistant professor of biology, KC Herne, a sophomore biology major, and Walter McKenna, a junior biology major, for “WTR Enhanced Aggregate: an Experimental Media for Stormwater Treatment.”

Fall 2019

Mark Boonshoft, assistant professor in the History and Political Science Department and Stephen Rabbia, a sophomore history major, for “The Declaration of Independence in the Jacksonian Era, 1824-1845.”

Jeff Casey, assistant professor in the English and Communications Department and Katherine Norwood, a freshman communications major, for “Pegasus Players Fall 2019 Production.”

Carolina Payares-Asprino, assistant professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department and William T. Dresher, a freshmen civil engineering major, for “Effects of Welding Process on Mechanical Properties in Duplex Stainless Steel Welds Developed through Robotic Welding Process.”

Michael Thunberg, assistant professor in the History and Political Science Department, and Shayla Moya, a junior triple major in political science, international studies, and for “Revising and Revoking Executive Orders.”

Summer 2019

Tabetha Hole, assistant professor in the Physics Department and Anubhav Rawal, a sophomore computer science major, for “Understanding Asymmetric Supernovas: Computational Analysis of Polarized Spectra.”

Sean Prentiss, associate professor in the English and Communications Depaqrtment, and Zac Jenkins, a sophomore communications major, for “Advanced Creative Nonfiction: A Writer’s Guide and Anthology, White Blaze, and Hunting Toward Home.”

Spring 2019

Wendy Cox, associate professor in the School of Architecture+Art, and Sheldon Rogers, a sophomore architecture major, for “Integrating the Virtual: Setting up background research and protocols for integrating virtual reality into the curriculum at the School of Architecture plus providing opportunities for disciplines campuswide.”

Elizabeth Gurian, associate professor in the School of Justice Studies and Sociology, and Rebecca Finley, a junior double-major in criminal justice and psychology, for “Serial and mass murder: understanding multicide through theoretical explanations, offending patterns, and outcomes.”

Karen Hinkle, professor in the Biology Department and Warren Yacawych, a junior exercise science major, for “Molecular Signals Involved in Early Stages of Vertebrate Brain Development: Exploring the Interaction Between CRK/CRKL and SH2 family members.”

Rob Knapik, associate professor in the Physics Department and John Rotter, a senior doublem major in physics and mathematics, for “On the Connection Between Late Pulsing and Double Pulsing in Large Area Photomultiplier Tubes.”

Tara Kulkarni, associate professor in the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department, and Camryn Anderson, a freshman engineering major, for “Connecting green stormwater infrastructure with energy resilience and health outcomes in resilient cities”.

Tara Kulkarni, associate professor in the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department, and Lily Marszalkowski, a sophomore criminal justice major, for “Service-learning in environmental engineering.”

Christine Latulippe, associate professor in the Mathematics Department, and Lindsey Maloney, a sophomore nursing major, for “Teacher Perceptions of Proficiency-Based Learning and Assessment in Vermont.” 

Darlene Olsen, associate professor in the Mathematics Department, and Callie Pokorski, a junior mathematics major, for “A Comprehensive Assessment of the Statistical Methods used to Analyze Time-Course RNA-sequencing Data.”

Thomas Shell, assistant professor in the Chemistry and Biochemistry Department, and Gracie Dominguez, a sophomore chemistry major, for “Tissue Penetrating Photopharmaceuticals to Improve the Treatment of Cancer.”

David Westerman, Charles A. Dana Professor Emeritus of Geology, and Caitlin-Judith Heale, a junior environmental science major with a concentration in engineering, for “Temporal Constraints on the Conditions of Silurian Extension in the Northern Appalachians.”

If you have any questions about the Apprentice Grant opportunity, contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., Undergraduate Research Program director, or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., faculty development coordinator.



Upcoming Featured Events

Norwich University admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered programs.

Norwich University collects personal data about visitors to our website in order to improve the user experience and provide visitors with personalized information about our programs and services. By using our site, you acknowledge that you accept the information policies and practices outlined in our Privacy Policy.