2006 Employee Recognition Award Recipients

On Tuesday, March 28, during the annual Recognition Dinner held in Plumley Armory, three Norwich employees were honored for outstanding service to the University. Deb Wick, Doreen Magoon, and Ed Reardick received the Bowen Awards in the Administrative Professional, Administrative Support, and Facilities Operations categories respectively.

The Bowen Awards are named in honor of Kathleen (Kay) Bowen, a Norwich University employee who died several years ago. Kay worked in Student Life for decades. She lived on campus, made herself available 24 hours a day, and became widely regarded as a surrogate mother to students and a dear friend to NU faculty and staff. Kay brought to her job a dedication, spirit and caring attitude that made her a truly exemplary colleague. The purpose of the Bowen Awards is to recognize staff members who bring to their jobs the spirit and characteristics epitomized by Kay. Recipients of the awards are full-time employees who have been with Norwich at least three consecutive years and who have an overall rating of at least an M on their most recent evaluation.

Also honored at the Recognition Dinner were the following retiring employees:

James Bennett - Student Services/Faculty
Anita Ford - Human Resources
COL W. Scott Knoebel - AROTC
LTC Richard Manganello - AROTC
Kathleen McGuckin - Career Development
John Stevens - Civil Engineering
Catherine Swenson - Library
Col Timothy Van Splunder - AFROTC

Employee Service Awards were given out to the following employees:

30 Years -- 1976
Mary Drown - Human Resources
Earl Fechter - Art & Architecture
Lauren Howard - Biology
Terri Liberman - English
Penny Ritzer - Math & Science

25 Years -- 1981
Mary Hoppe - Chemistry
Robert McKay - Philosophy
Melvin Miller - Psychology
Robert Schmidt - Institutional Research
David Whaley - Institutional Advancement

20 Years -- 1986
Narain Batra - Communications
Ken Bush - Communications
Rena Demasi - Student Financial Services
Loriann Lajeunesse - Financial Affairs
David Magida - Facility Operations
Mehdi Mohaghegh - Economics
Patricia White - English

15 Years -- 1991
Deborah Ahlers - Kreitzberg Library
Joan Davis - Sodexo
Audrey Burnell - Sodexo
Keith Gauvin - Registrar's Office
Michael Hoffman - Art and Architecture
Martha Mathis - Student Services
Joseph Morvan - IT User Services
David Ward - Modern Languages

10 Years -- 1996
Michael Abraham - Security
Barbara Banks - Student Services
Philip Dyment - Facility Operations
Patricia Ferreira - English
Mary Gillis - Communications
Paula Gleason - Financial Affairs
Frederick Snow - Branding/Communications
Carol Stephens - Engineering
James Wilson - Facility Operations
Christina Lamson - Facilities Operations

5 Years -- 2001
Carl Aronson - IT Academic Computing
Rowland Brucken - History
Frederick Coan - Kreitzberg Arena
Perley Dexter - IT Systems
Charles Emmons - English
Alison Fisher - Chemistry
Russell Holden - Commandant's Office
Michel Kabay - Computer Security & Information Assurance
Richard Labree - Sodexo
Ellen Liptak - President's Office
Richard Manganello - Military Science
K. David Maxwell - Kreitzberg Arena
Peter McGrath - Naval Science
Claire Millette - IT Systems
Karin Pelletier - Human Resources
James Pratt - IT Systems
Michael Puddicombe - Management
Roger Richardson - Sodexo
Joyce Rivers - Commandant's Office
Nicole Rocheleau - Human Resources
Gregory Sauer - Kreitzberg Library
C. Dart Thalman - Political Science
Michelle Walker - Nursing
Diana Weggler - Office of Communications
Robert Weggler - Athletics