187th Norwich University Convocation

convocation2005-2006 Academic Year Officially Opened

August 30, 2005 -- On Tuesday afternoon, Associate Provost Joseph Byrne officially opened the 187th convocation of Norwich University. The gathering of students, faculty, staff and the greater Norwich community is an annual coming together to recognize the beginning of the academic year.

"This convocation is a kick-off event that celebrates a new cycle and fosters the success of our students in our mutual pursuit of excellence in learning," said Dr. Byrne.

President Richard W. Schneider welcomed the classes and the faculty back to The Hill and congratulated those students receiving scholarships and academic recognition. The President espoused this year's theme of Personal Responsibility and Building Norwich Pride.

"Without a vision, people perish. All students must have a vision of working hard toward their degrees. I know life isn't easy at Norwich, but if you live by our motto, I WILL TRY, you will succeed and guarantee your place at commencement," said President Schneider.

Associate Professor of Mathematics Dr. Robert Poodiack is this year's recipient of the prestigious Homer L. Dodge Award. Dr. Poodiack has been teaching at Norwich since 1999 and was recently tenured.

"His enthusiasm and joy is a hallmark of his teaching," said Dr. Byrne.

At every convocation, outstanding students receive recognition for their academic achievements. University Scholars are students with a GPA of 3.5 or better. 151 Norwich students with a GPA between 3.50 and 3.99 received recognition.

The twenty-one students who have maintained a perfect score of 4.00 were lauded for their dedication to excellence.

Seven Presidential Fellows were awarded to seniors based on evidence of exceptional performance. Those seniors are: Eric Bach (Divison of Architecture and Art); Karthic Raman (Division of Business and Management); Michael Martell (Division of Engineering); Zachariah Eastman (Division of Humanities); Stephanie Thompson and Kathleen Smith (Division of Math and Science) and Elizabeth Richards (Division of Social Sciences).

In addition, a total of twenty different scholarships, awards and financial prizes were presented to students who exemplified excellence in their particular studies.