Norwich University film makers receive national recognition

students with awardsNorwich University students recently received national recognition for their film-making efforts during the 2003/2004 academic year. The Society of Professional Journalists' Mark of Excellence Awards were presented on September 11 at the organization's national convention in New York City. Norwich University television productions received top honors in three categories during the event.

Two of the awards were in recognition of "Our American Journey: The Road Back to the Frozen Four," in the Sports Program and Sports Photography categories. The third award was for "Our American Journey: High School" in the Feature Photography category.

"The Road Back to the Frozen Four" captures the 2002/2003 journey of the Norwich University Hockey Team to the NCAA Division III Finals. "High School" studies the link between truancy and incarceration and what traditional high schools might do to improve graduation rates. "High School" was made possible by a grant from the Vermont Department of Education.

Marshall Lee and Lynn Beedle were the Senior Producers of "The Road Back Back to the Frozen Four." Dave Armeson, Josh Creighton, Mike Davis, and Dale Mauldin were the Senior Producers of "High School." Approximately 20 students contributed to each project.

The Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) is a national organization dedicated to improving and protecting journalism. Each year the SPJ presents the Mark of Excellence Awards honoring the best in student journalism. This year's winners were chosen from more than 3,200 entries in 45 categories including print, radio, television, and online. The SPJ has honored the best work in collegiate journalism since 1972.

"The winners of this Mark of Excellence competition should be especially proud of their accomplishments," said Guy Baehr, chairman of SPJ's Awards and Honors committee."This was the most competitive Mark of Excellence contest in history. It attracted an all-time record number of entries. More than ever, these awards are honoring the best of the best.", September 2004

What's New | 2004 News Archive