Norwich celebrates the opening of school at its 186th Convocation ceremony

platform partyNorwich University officially began its 186th academic year Tuesday with the annual Convocation ceremony held in Shapiro Field House.

Hubert Maultsby, Provost of Norwich University, began the ceremony by telling the students, faculty and staff assembled that Convocation was the coming together of the entire Norwich community to celebrate the success of the students, and to prepare for the upcoming academic year.

Provost MaultsbyNorwich President Richard Schneider then took the podium to remind the students of Norwich's vision statement. "We are a learning community, American in character yet global in perspective, engaged in personal and intellectual transformation, and dedicated to knowledge, mutual respect, creativity and service," Schneider said. The president reiterated the institutional priorities, represented by the five I's: Improve learning, Inspire students, Information technology for all, Internationalize the campus, and Invest strategically.

VP/Cmdt Kelley, Dr. Edmundson, Pres. SchneiderSchneider ended his comments by citing an observation by Martin Luther King. "Martin Luther King said that intelligence plus character is the goal of true education," Schneider said. "That's what we do at Norwich. It is a very powerful thing when these two things come together. Welcome back to Norwich."

The guest speaker for the annual fall ceremony was Norwich University Trustee Lorna Duphiney Edmundson, Ph.D, President of Wilson College in Pennsylvania. "Today, as we begin anew, we should pause to think of Norwich's past," Edmundson told the audience. "Think about all of the teachers, students and administrators who have passed through the halls of this university since 1819. Since the earliest times, NU alumns have gone out into the world bringing the values that they learned here.

freshmen"As you spend your time at Norwich, remember to reconnect to the common goals and prepare for the future. For Norwich's future. For your future. And for the future of the world," Edmundson said. "Good luck to you."

Following Edmundson's speech, academic awards were issued to students for their achievements during the fall '03 and spring '04 semesters. Included in these honors were:

University Scholars (for maintaining a 4.0 GPA)

  • Marina Olegovna Brajnikova-Aronson,
  • Kristin Elizabeth Brosky,
  • Erich Douglas Gebauer,
  • Katie Janet Harmes,
  • Michael Joseph Iaquinto,
  • Sandra Anne Jones,
  • Alexander Harry Kormanos,
  • Karthik Raman,
  • Elizabeth Cecelia Richards,
  • Stephen Mark Robitaille,
  • Kathryn Swartz Roosa,
  • Kyle Eugene Schoelz,
  • Sean Edward Wolf, and
  • Jennifer Elizabeth Yost.

Presidential Fellows (seniors selected on evidence of exceptional academic performances)

  • Brian Baril - Division of Architecture and Art;
  • Jennifer Elizabeth Yost - Division of Business and Management;
  • Patrick Colburn - Division of Engineering;
  • Jennifer Bryan - Division of Humanities;
  • Hillary A. Peirce - Division of Math and Science; and
  • Javonne Gray - Division of Social Sciences.

Read a transcript of Dr. Edmundson's speech., September 2004

What's New | 2004 News Archive